i like music and like you guys i like more of it (very random odds and ends here)

First off, I am feeling better and regret having to cancel the show at Dartmouth. I had to stay healthy. I hope to visit Dartmouth in the fall. Thanks to Newton and Howie for being so cool about everything. Chest cold= bad.

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted anything about other music and other things.

In no order:

Why it took me so long to buy Kesto by Pan Sonic I will never know. It’s pretty incomparable. I would like to check out the new DVD KUVAPUTKI, but I don’t have a giant video projector and sound system to match. Anyone who would like to go in on renting a fancy A/V room to watch it should get in touch.

I am STOKED that Emil Amos from Grails is the new OM drummer. Can’t wait to see/hear the new version of the group.

Root Strata’s blog is mighty fine: http://www.rootstrata.com/rootblog/. Included in there somewhere is a newly updated (to me) Alan Licht Minimalism List that had me running for the blogs last night. I did okay. Any mention of the incredible Roberto Cacciapaglia LP Sei Nota in Logica is news. I need a real copy of that. That’s the kind of record you dream about.

COMMERCE CORNER:

My offer stands: if anyone (including the guy who released it, who vanished a long time ago) has an actual copy of my Animation CDR from 2002 that they will be willing to part with, please let me know. I’ll pay you money and send you new music. It’s the only thing I don’t have in my archives, and it makes me feel weird.

Conversely, I am desperate for mp3s or cdrs or even an LP of Michael Snow’s Musics for Piano, Whistling, Microphone and Tape Recorder. I’d be interested in trading for the cds as well, but I know that is expensive. Let’s talk.

Hey, what other records are like Jean-Claude Vainner’s L’Enfant Assassin des Mouches? I bet the answer is no. Something has to be close, though.

I also have a feeling I NEED the Baudouin Oosterlynck box set.

4 thoughts on “i like music and like you guys i like more of it (very random odds and ends here)

  1. Arlo Gilbert says:

    I like music also and I like the way it is.

  2. jon abbey says:

    Brendan, I assume you know Gainsbourg-Histoire de Melody Nelson? Vannier did the arranging on that one, great record.

  3. pneumatics says:

    Pneumatics says : I absolutely agree with this !

  4. Sancta says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Sancta.

Leave a Reply

