November and News

Thanks to everyone for coming to see Mike Shiflet and I on our tour.  There’s some pictures I took on our trip here.

November is a busy month for shows as well.

November 14th 730-10pm
White Electric Coffee
711 Westminster Street.
Providence, RI

Area C
Brendan Murray
TBA

November 18th 9pm
The Middle East (Upstairs)
472 Mass Ave.
Cambridge MA

Lawrence Cook Disaster Unit
Thurston Moore / Bill Nace / Paul Flaherty (Ecstatic Peace)
Paper Summer
Work/Death

The rock band Paper Summer, in which I play drums/guitar, makes its last local appearance for awhile.  The next time you’ll see us, we’ll have out first record done.

November 19th 8pm
The Outpost
186 1/2 Hampshire St.
Cambridge, MA

Noell Dorsey – voice
James Coleman – theremin
Jules Vasylenko – saxophone

Brendan Murray-solo electronics

James is one of the reasons I play music.  This will be the first time I hear Jules and Noell.  Excited.

November 20th 6pm

Dartmouth College
The Way To Go Out
Spheris Gallery
59 South Main St
Hanover NH

Brendan Murray
and
various ensembles performing the music of Christian Wolff and John Cage

I’ll be playing a solo.  I was to play at Dartmouth in May, but had to cancel.  I am grateful that they were able to have me back.

November 22 8pm
Third Life Studio
Open Sound
33 Union Square, Somerville, MA

Ouest (Howard Stelzer, Brendan Murray, Jay Sullivan

Yael Bat-Shimon, violin
Karen Bray, performance artist/dancer

Third Life is the room where 90 percent of all Ouest music has happened.  We’ll be playing two extended sets of our music.  Get comfy.

I am pleased to announce that my fifth solo cd will be released by Students Of Decay in 2009.  This eponymous 6-track record was made in 2008 and is sourced from live shows, radio performances and studio work.  Unlike Commonwealth, this record is six shorter pieces of music employing melodies, instrumentation and various recording methods/fidelities. I know it’s a little weird to have a self-titled record, but I had to for this one. Hopefully you’ll hear why.  Look for it at the beginning of next year.

More soon…

Leave a Reply

