Coded With Paved Paws (2009)


“A mapping of childhood anxiety with recordings of films ostensibly concerning nuclear combat and apocalypse. I was (and am) an indoor kid at heart so my “natural environment” is/was sitting in front of the television, even though I’ve broken the habit as an adult (and switched it to being stuck in front of computers most of the time). These “field recordings” of old television programs (mostly lifted from the internet) represent my natural youthful fear masked in dread of nuclear war. I concentrated in fake documentaries about the subject, as I always found that construct especially chilling. Included are recordings of shortwave radio and re-purposed music that I loved as a kid. The piece is not political, despite its content.”

Assembled at Defense Electronics February 2009

Originally broadcast on Framework, Resonance 104.4, London. Available here.

Leave a Reply

